Life with the Wild Things

Just another mom of 2 boys in a house full of energy!

iMom.com Challenge day 5 and 6 November 27, 2014


http://www.imom.com/printable/crazy-mom-holiday-challenge/

112714_1541_iMomcomChal1.png112714_1541_iMomcomChal2.jpg

Well, I missed posting on Day 5.  It was a long day at work followed by travel to God’s Country to see my family.  So I am going to catch up with a two in one post.

So how is it going now that we are knee deep in Holiday 1 of the Crazy Holiday Time of the Year?

Well, let’s evaluate the situation.

112714_1541_iMomcomChal4.jpg

The original plan was my two sisters and I would come to Mom’s with our families and have a wonderful, traditional Thanksgiving.  However, that isn’t exactly how it has ended up.  Both of my sisters work retail.  So what was going to be a sit down at noon for Thanksgiving lunch has been changed to a split meal throughout the day.  My hubby couldn’t make it this year due to changes at work.  So we are going to roll with it!

My mom has cooked for 2 days.  It smells incredible here.  One sister is already at work.  She will come over at 4 tonight.  The other sister is driving in for lunch then hitting the road in the afternoon so she can work Black Friday.  My hubby will probably have dinner with friends at home that are like family.

So… it isn’t the perfect plan we had.  But, it is still going to be wonderful because we appreciate any time we have together.

Number 3 and 4 of the challenge I had skipped earlier because my kids and husband weren’t home.

3 – Remember your kids are kids, not angels.

4 – Cut your husband some slack, he is not an angel either.

WOW!  Things I must remember.  I have a tendency to lose my patience because I want things…..112714_1541_iMomcomChal4.jpg

Well, I wish I could say that number 3 started of better.  But, I am going to keep reminding myself that they are not angels.  Number 4 is hard too.  I hate when we aren’t all together.  So it is hard not having hubby here today to celebrate all we have to be thankful for.  But, I am a work in progress.  So I’ll just keep working on this part of the challenge.  I’ll report back to you how it goes.

Number 6 is the perfect part of the challenge for today!  Be thankful for what you have instead of thinking you need more.

WOW!  What could be better for today!

be thankful

We always want more of everything.  Today, I am going to stop and think of how very lucky I am.  I am so thankful for…

  1. A family that loves me and who I love so very much
  2. Parents that have given me so much in life both mine and hubby’s
  3. A husband who really is a great person
  4. Kids who make me laugh 90% of the time
  5. Sisters, Sister in laws, Brothers, Brother in laws, Nieces, and Nephews who make life richer
  6. Friends who aren’t just friends, but they are my family

I guess I am most thankful for the people in my life rather than the things that we acquire.

be-thankful 2

So my wish for everyone is that we can all be thankful today for our blessings big and small.  Happy Thanksgiving.

 

Leave a comment